Santa Cruz Open Studios!

unnamed-5

I just finished up a very busy weekend participating in the  Arts Council Santa Cruz Open Studio event that happens every October.   It was my first year being a part of it and I wasn’t sure what to expect.   I had participated in the San Francisco’s Open Studios for several years in the past when I lived up there but now I am living in the mountains and it’s pretty difficult to get to where I live and paint.

Anyways I went into this with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised.  Over the two days I had over 80 visitors come to my studio space!  Everyone was very enthusiastic and had many questions and comments.   I felt like I managed to interacted with pretty much everyone who stopped by.  I was very tired by the end of Sunday night but it was a good tired and I will be participating in this event again next year.

I sold a total of 13 giclee prints and one original drawing so I managed to cover my participation and advertising costs and then some.  It also opened a few more doors for me.   I have been asked to be a part of Boulder Creek First Friday Art Walk and will get to show my work at the next month’s event taking place on Friday November 4th.    And then a gallery in Santa Cruz,  the Artisan Gallery  on Pacific Ave has asked to show a few of my pieces in November as well.

I am very thankful to all who made it out to see my work.  I am also very grateful for the hard work my husband put in to this event and to my two girls.   It was a very long and social weekend for them and they were super stars.

Leave a Reply

